Whey protein is the highest quality of protein available. Whey protein is a rich source of branched chain amino acids (BCAAs), containing the highest known levels of any natural food source. Whey protein is a complete protein that contains all 20 amino acids and all nine essential amino acids. The protein digestibility corrected amino acid score is 1.14, as compared to 0.94 for beef protein, and its BV is 104, compared to 100 for eggs. In addition, whey protein empties from the stomach and is absorbed into the bloodstream from the intestine faster than other protein. IWhey provides the body with the perfect amino acid profile for muscle building, strength and recovery. Whey is also fast ingesting, meaning it gets to where it’s needed – fast!  Whey protein also works as an antioxidant to boost the body’s immune system. There are2 types of protein that comes from milk; whey and casein protein. Whey is made during the process of cow’s milk being turned into cheese. When the milk is being turned into cheese, the whey protein is a by-product.

There are 2 major types of whey protein, whey protein concentrate and whey protein isolate. Whey protein concentrate is low in fat, has a highest biological value and is typically about 75% pure protein by weight. Biological value, or BV, is the measure of the efficiency of a protein and how it can be absorbed and used by the body for growth — higher the number, the higher the efficiency. It’s a common term in bodybuilding and one that is used to classify whey protein. With BV, egg protein sets the standard with 100. Beef can be found at around 75, for example. With whey protein, however, BV can be as high as 170. Whey protein isolate has the biggest bioavailability of the whey sources, generally about 30-60% more than concentrate.

There are no documented side effects of whey provided a person does not have an allergy to dairy proteins or does not need to restrict dairy products for medical reasons. If you are allergic to dairy proteins please consult with a physician prior to consuming any type of whey protein.

Gluten and milk allergies and intolerances often occur in the same individual. Pure whey protein will contain no gluten and is entirely safe on a gluten-free diet. Occasionally, however, industrial processing may involve cross-contamination (the same machines that package whey protein may package wheat flour). If you have a gluten intolerance, check the label, which should say “gluten free.”