If you have ever been to a Japanese restaurant you might have ordered something with teriyaki sauce. It is a rich, thick sauce that is often used to marinate meat like chicken or seafood. The main ingredients are soysauce, sake or mirin. Soy sauce is commonly made with wheat. Wheat contains gluten so the answer is Yes. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye. When flour mixes with water, the gluten proteins form a sticky network that has a glue-like consistency. This makes the dough elastic and gives bread the ability to rise during baking. Many people can tolerate gluten with no adverse effects while others experience a variety of symptoms and health problems. This is known as gluten intolerance.

 

 

The good news is that if you are on a gluten-free diet there are several brands of gluten-free teriyaki sauce available. You can also make it yourself. Here is a quick, easy recipe:

 

Gluten-Free Teriyaki Sauce

 

Ingredients:

1/3 CUP LOW-SODIUM GLUTEN-FREE TAMARI. Tamari is a gluten-free soy sauce made without wheat.

        2/3 CUP WATER. The water makes the sauce less salty.

 

2 TBSP. LEMON JUICE.  Adds a little brightness to the sauce.

2 TBSP.PURE HONEY For sweetness.

Whisk all of the ingredients together in a bowl together in a bowl. Marinate on chicken or seafood and serve with cooked vegetables for a healthy gluten-free meal!