949-338-4469 |     healthbygini@yahoo.com

Is Gluten Hiding in Your Food?

Gluten is the name for proteins found in wheat, barley and rye. It acts as a glue that holds food together. If you’ve ever seen someone make pizza dough this is gluten in action. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

 People with Celiac Disease or non- celiac gluten intolerance need to know what foods and ingredients are likely to contain wheat gluten. Which ingredients should you avoid? Here’s a list of foods that you might not realize contain gluten:

 

 

  • White vinegar can be made from almost any starch source or gluten-containing grains. Several of the foods below might contain white vinegar.

 

  • Ketchup

 

 

  • Mustard

 

  • Capers

 

  • Pickles

 

  • Pepper

 

  • Packaged pudding

 

  • mustard powder

 

  • Imitation bacon

 

  • Imitation seafood

 

  • Cool whip

 

  • Barley is commonly found in:

 

  • malt (malted barley flour, malted milk and milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar)

 

 

  • food coloring
  • soups

 

  • beer

 

  • Brewer’s Yeast

 

  • Rye is commonly found in:

 

  • rye bread, such as pumpernickel
  • rye beer
  • cereals

 

To learn more about the gluten-free diet contact Health By Gini to make an appointment. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: